Why is Internet Explorer usually the default setting

Auto-detection of settings unexpectedly turns on when you log on to Internet Explorer 9 for the first time.

  • 2 minutes to read

This article provides information about how to resolve the problem that the option automatically recognize settings is unexpectedly enabled when a user logs on to Internet Explorer 9 for the first time.

Original version of the product: Internet Explorer 9
Original KB number:   2587595

Problem Description

The option Detect settings automatically that are in Internet Explorer > Internet Options > Connections > LAN settings found is enabled even though Internet Explorer Maintenance Group Policy is configured to disable the feature.

This behavior usually occurs for users who are logged on to the target computer for the first time and can also occur for users who create a new user profile on the target computer.

root cause

This is intentional behavior. The default option is Detect settings automatically enabled for Internet Explorer.

When the user profile is first created, Internet Explorer connection settings are not considered fully configured until the user opens the browser for the first time. Before this interactive process can take place, the Windows Group Policy subsystem applies the appropriate policies and customization settings before the user is allowed to interact with the desktop environment.

If the user can interact with the desktop, then the standard Internet Explorer customizations have occurred, as well as any customizations implemented by the Internet Explorer Administration Kit (IEAK). As soon as the user starts Internet Explorer for the first time, a migration procedure for the connection setting is carried out.

As part of this migration setting, connection adjustments such as the status of the automatically recognizing settings, an automatic configuration script, a proxy server is used, and the corresponding dial-up values ​​are compared with all available connections on the tab Internet Explorer connections are defined. One step in this migration process is to explicitly enable the option automatically recognize settings for the standard connection, so that the value is copied to any additional dial-up connection entries that may exist.

This migration procedure is controlled by the status of the DWORD value, which is found under the following value:

By default, the value is 0, indicating that the procedure has not yet been run. The value is in 1 changed when the procedure completes.

Note

Applying a Group Policy for Internet Explorer Maintenance Connection Settings does not affect the status of this procedure.

solution

The recommended solution is to reapply the policy settings by either running a command as a user, or by logging off and then back on to the target computer.

If the user profile is configured to be deleted at logout, it may be necessary to provide a custom group policy or user logon script to change the value of 0 to 1 redefine and completely bypass the migration process.

Note

If this migration process is prevented, the default local area connection settings may not be replicated to the existing dial-up or VPN entries as expected on the Internet Explorer connections are listed.