Is baking soda vegan

Is Baking Soda Vegan?

Publication:
Baking powder is also used in cookies. But is it vegan? Image: pixabay.com

Many people ask themselves: is baking soda actually vegan? Should you pay attention to anything in order not to accidentally mix parts of dead animals into the batter for biscuits, waffles or pancakes?

Here we explain to you what is hidden in commercially available baking powder - and what you should look out for with baking powder!

The typical and most commonly used baking powders are based on one (or more) of the following ingredients:

  • Sodium hydrogen carbonate ("Natron", E number E 500ii) or
  • Potassium hydrogen carbonate (E 501ii),
  • Potassium carbonate ("potash").

In addition, there is an acidifier that reacts with these basic ingredients in the dough and creates the gas CO2 released. This gas creates small bubbles that make the dough more fluffy.

Vegan waffles are also made with baking powder. Image: pixabay.com

As acidulants, disodium dihydrogen diphosphate (E 450a), potassium tartrate (Weinstein, E number E 336) or monocalcium orthophosphate (E 341a) are often added to baking powder. Sometimes combined with citric acid.


So that sodium hydrogen carbonate and acidulant do not react directly in the pack (the "letter"), starch is usually added as a separating agent.

With one exception, the ingredients mentioned are usually vegan and can therefore also be used in the vegan bakery without any problems. You should only be careful with the tartar.

Caution: tartar (potassium tartrate)

Tartar (or potassium tartrate) is made from wine, which in turn is often (but not always) clarified with gelatin (sometimes with other animal products). The gelatine is then removed again so that traces may remain.

Inspirational vegan baking books *

There are also vegan methods for clarifying wine. Therefore, if in doubt, you should check whether the baking powder is labeled with a "vegan" label - or simply use a baking powder without tartar. There's enough choice!

Caution: staghorn salt

Deer horn salt is used in some recipes (E number E 503). Chemically speaking, deer horn salt works a bit differently than the baking soda mentioned above.

As the name suggests, it used to be made from deer horn (and other parts of the body) - this may still be the case in theory, but is extremely unlikely in practice. You can find out more here.


Now we wish you a lot of fun and success in baking! Take part in the vegan forum to exchange ideas with other people about vegan baking.

>>> Vegan newsletter. More than 5,200 have it!

Author: editorial staff