How does the Japanese government work

Embassy of Japan in Germany
在 ド イ ツ 日本国 大使館


Japan has a democratic system of government. All citizens of legal age have the right to vote and stand for election in national and regional elections.

The Japanese system of government is based on the Japanese Constitution of 1947. It is also called the Peace Constitution because it stipulates Japan's obligation to maintain peace and renounce war. The peace constitution also sets out the role of the emperor, the rights and duties of citizens, the duties of various government agencies, and other regulations by which the government operates.

The national law in Japan is the parliament. The parliament consists of two houses: the House of Representatives (lower house) and the upper house. Most national laws have to be passed by both Houses. With some laws, however, the decision of the House of Representatives is followed if the two houses cannot agree. The prime minister belongs to parliament and is elected by parliament. The Prime Minister appoints the members of the Cabinet. Cabinet members head the individual ministries and other government agencies. Japan consists of a total of 47 prefectures, each ruled by a governor. The prefectures have limited powers in financial and educational policy. Tôkyô has been the capital of Japan since 1868. It is one of the largest cities in the world, but also one of the cleanest and safest. It acts as an international center in both the economic and cultural sectors. There are a large number of restaurants, markets, shops and other entertainment options common to any metropolis. Tôkyô is the seat of government; the emperor and empress also reside here.

The Prime Minister and his Cabinet ...